FINAL VIDEO- FLASHING LIGHTS

After recently realising that what I thought would be my final video wasn’t quite what I wanted, I’ve created another video which I believe encompasses the qualities I desired which are confusion and nostalgia, I want the viewer to feel like there experiencing something they’ve experienced before. The idea is that the ‘flashing lights’ will make them think up a story due to the lights they’ve seen. For example, if they see blue and red flashing lights they’ll think its an emergency, which reinforces the idea of the connotation of flashing lights I spoke about in a previous blog post (https://nikitafarrington.wordpress.com/2016/10/11/blog-post-title/)

With my last video which you can watch on this blog post (https://nikitafarrington.wordpress.com/2016/11/25/what-was-going-to-be-my-final-video-flashing-lights/), the only editing I did was removing the audio, adding the music and merging the clips together.

For this video I’ve done a lot more editing, I’ve started this time by making the fire exit clip (the one that inspired this work) the longest clip that’s in the video, which starts the video, It lasts nearly 6 seconds and I’ve left that clip alone and not done any further editing to it apart from the removal of audio, unlike the rest of the clips. I’ve removed the audio from all the clips apart from the flash in between each new clip, and put white noise over all of it. I’ve then added 2 of the same clips (for every new clip), but on the second clip sped it up 16x which is followed by the same flash clip which follows after each new clip, I did this to make it seem like you’re seeing your memories and then its almost like its fast forwarding you back to the present and the flash confirms you’re back in the moment. At the end of the video I add the same flash clip 10 times but with a black screen in between each to make that a flash in itself, however at the end the flash clips start getting faster and faster, they start at normal speed and then go to being sped up 5x.

I’m really happy with the way it turned out in the end, I’m so glad I realised that my last video just wasn’t right, it didn’t have enough to it whereas I feel as though this one does and I really hope everyone who see’s it enjoys it.. or ideally feels slightly confused.

Here’s my final.. final video.

 

Leave a comment